Session outline
Solid Earth Sciences(S)
Session Sub Category Complex & General(CG)
Session ID S-CG61
Title The 20th anniversary of K-NET: Past and future of strong-motion networks
Short title The 20th anniversary of K-NET
Convener Name Hisashi Nakahara
Affiliation Solid Earth Physics Laboratory, Department of Geophysics, Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University
Co-convener 1. Name Yoshiaki Hisada
Affiliation Kogakuin University, Dept. of Architecture
Co-convener 2. Name Kazuhito Hikima
Affiliation Tokyo Electric Power Company
International Symposium No request
Language Japanese
Scope The Kyoshin network (K-NET) was constructed after the 1995 Hyogo-ken Nanbu earthquake and the great Hanshin-Awaji Earthquake Disaster, and has been operated by the National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention since June 1996. The K-NET has the following important characteristics that are totally different from those of the past observations. (1) It uniformly covers all over Japan with stations distributed every 20km, (2) It consists of more than 1,000 standardized strong-motion seismometers, (3) Recorded data are made available on quasi real-time basis. Thanks to these characteristics, a large number of researchers and practitioners not only in Japan but also abroad have been using K-NET data to understand many subjects such as physics of earthquakes, seismic hazard caused by strong ground motion, and resultant earthquake disasters. The K-NET is producing a huge database of strong ground motions including extreme ones recorded near source faults, and the database is widely used in seismology, earthquake engineering, and so on. Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the K-NET, we will summarize academic and societal achievements brought so far by the K-NET and discuss the future of strong-motion networks including the K-NET. We widely invite contributions to the related subjects including analyses using K-NET data.
Type of presentation Oral and Poster presentation
Invited papers Shin Aoi (NIED)
Takashi Yokota (Aichi Institute of Technology)
Toshimi Satoh (Ohsaki Research Institute)